Anti-Social Social Media

And just like that, within three clicks, I deleted my Facebook mobile app.

It was one long click, followed by a short click and “are you sure you want to delete this?” Yes, I’m pretty confident I don’t need this in my life right now… Click.

It felt cleansing and I like freeing up the space on my phone. More room for pics and videos of my snuggly little niece and nephew [insert Skeptical Belle photo here].

Skeptical Belle

It was that internal voice I wanted to cleanse myself of primarily. Because every time I pulled up the Facebook app, I would be greeted by five photos of my girlfriend’s kids. It’s great. However it’s the same feeling as their annual Christmas card. Where are the parents? Where did my friends go? I love the Christmas card, but I want to see my girlfriend and her husband!

I understand their kids ARE their life now, and genetically my girlfriend is 50% there… But it’s missing so much more.

Also who really cares what I have to say anyway? My posts inevitably are about my career, family and Southern California. Maybe I post a sunset, maybe a picture on the water to pay homage to Earth Day… but did I really honor Earth Day?

(Spoiler alert, I wasn’t picking up trash that Saturday, and I definitely did not go to the local recycle center. That is not sexy enough for Facebook after all).

Maybe I am just bragging. I don’t mean to, but I realize my ocean front view could be perceived that way. When you’re on your couch in Iowa with the sound of lawn mowers in the background, taking a selfie with your kid you might think, “Gee, Katie is really living the dream in So Cal.”

Meanwhile I’m alone on my stand-up paddle board thinking, “Gee, I really wish I had a family to go to the beach with today. Or maybe we would be picking-up trash on the side of the road.”

Either way, we are living in different realities – yearning for what we don’t have.

The only reality we have is Perception. I perceive your life one way and want it, and you may perceive my life another way and want it.

At what point can we stop comparing?

For me it was the moment I said “YES.” Yes to deleting that pesky blue app. I said “goodbye” to comparing myself to others. “Goodbye” to feeling inadequate. And “hello” to a fulfilled life.

Part of me wonders if anyone will notice. “I haven’t seen Katie post anything or ‘like’ anything in awhile.” Good. I am probably “liking” something else in my world. Something physical. Something tangible or maybe even intangible.

You won’t know if I’m dating, in a relationship or where I’m traveling to next. Perhaps the mystique could be attractive?

The thought even crossed my mind to delete Facebook all together. I’ve done it before. It was a little extreme. “Maybe she’s hiding something? Is she anti-social? Anti-establishment?”

No, no and no. I’m not in hiding. I’m not a terrorist, and I’m not in trouble with the law like Chris Soules.

I’m still a bit on the fence though. (Until I realize that even Osama Bin Laden had internet and video to communicate with the outside world.)

So let’s see what this new chapter has in store. Perhaps closing Facebook will open up a new book, new blog or new opportunity? (Oh wait, I already started this one!)

I’m not anti-social or anti social media. I am just pro-social and pro leading a fulfilled life without comparisons and judgement.

 

Published by Katie Jones

Leave a Reply

