What’s Your Social Media Pattern?

Often times when we talk about social media, it’s about your “brand”. What’s your brand? What are you projecting into the world?

I’m personally tired of hearing about “my brand,” and being lectured for it.

But I get it. Let’s move away from “The Facebook” of 2005 to pictures of us today not doing beer bongs outside of an Iowa tailgate. (That was the kind of social media I participated in).

What I am curious about now are our communication patterns when interacting with people via social media.

Katie: “I want to put this on FB is that weird??” (Usually if I have to ask this, I think to myself, “Just say no, Katie, just say no…”)

[Heather’s response over group text]

  • “Not at all, I’ll ‘like’ it!
  • Shea’s like… I didn’t participate in this, but I’ll put a ‘like’ on it.
  • So will Rachel because she likes everything.
  • And Jen will try to comment and insert herself.
  • And Kara will ‘like’ it 5 days from now.”

As I read through Heather’s bullet points, it hit me… That was exactly how everyone would react if I posted something on FB.

Patterns of behavior.

We know Rachel will “like” something within 2.5 seconds of posting (if she’s not in the middle of posting herself about a green smoothie), and Kara will always be 5 days behind us.

What is slightly scary is when I reflect on myself. I’m taking MJ’s advice, and really taking a look at the man in the mirror.

So what are my patterns? Okay, here it goes…

I almost always “like” cute pictures of babies. (I emphasize cute because there are some frightening photos of babies and fetuses out there!)

I almost always “like” posts about engagements and weddings. Duh, that’s an easy one.
But what is my communication pattern? Well for one, I suck at keeping track of invites via Facebook. I must not be getting the push notifications, because I basically never know what is happening. I also don’t really care. I know Heather will text me a Save the Date weeks in advance, and I always say “yes” if I get an Evite.

You may think I’m disorganized, but I’m actually highly organized. I just associate Facebook invites with keggers and 21ers at The Summit in Iowa City.

I’d also say I do a good job keeping up with social media activity, daily or every other day….

I may not be the first to see something. It kills me when people say, “OMG did you SEE on Facebook?” No. But again, I also don’t really care soooooo….

I am open to feedback if you feel my social media communications skills are lacking. I don’t think they are annoying so that’s a start.

I’m not blasting you with 5 posts a day or pinging you with chain letter requests. I hate those by the way. I’m also annoyed by the “getting to know you” lists. I don’t care which band out of ten you haven’t gone to. “This will be fun!” No, it’s not. I don’t care that you haven’t seen 98 Degrees.

Now outside of Fakebook, I mean Facebook, there are many other forms of social media that say a lot about a person.

Insta & Pinterest are geared more towards artsy, deep people (I know, why am I not on Instagram…?)

Snapchat is for goofy people, and seems to be popular among younger Millennials. Guilty. I love dumb snaps and feel like I’m 24 years old.

Yelp? Twitter? YouTube? My blog? LinkedIn anyone?


I am actually a big fan of LinkedIn. I know it seems like the lamest of all social media, but it has become one of my favorites, and my social media communication patterns are very responsive. I guess in a way it mirrors my professional patterns of behavior, which are responsive, informed and engaged.

Facebook on the other hand, mirrors my personal life… I don’t give a fuck. Sure, I’ll go to this baby shower and “like” this cute baby, but I’d prefer to be traveling, drinking wine, “liking” sexy men or thinking deep thoughts about the Universe.

But if I had to rank my fave social media, hands down it would be Twitter.
(And like everyone judges me at this point.)

I like Twitter because it is so open, yet closed at the same time. What I mean by that is it’s a global network so more users have access to your message. Yet Twitter can be so cryptic, so you may not be sure what’s going on. In a way I love the ambiguity. I can be myself. Be a number. Anonymous. It’s open for the world to see, but if you’re a nobody like me you know only three people are really reading your tweets.

They are dumb tweets too. They’re perfect. Twitter and my blog are the two spaces I can be authentic and real. And why not strive to be authentic and real humans?


Published by: Katie Jones

Leave a Reply

